Skip to content

Failed Granola Bars and a Contest!

October 13, 2009

Wow. It’s raining in pouring in San Francisco. They say it’s the beginning of El Nino season! The winds are 25-45 miles per hour and it’s pretty scary out there. Anyway, you know how I spoke of some granola bars in the process of cooling? Um, it’s been 2 days, and they are still wayyy too sticky. It was something along the lines of too much honey, too much brown sugar or…something. I’m going to be making pumpkin granola later this week so hopefully since I’m scratching the whole “bar” concept it will turn out swell! I did however, console myself with a batch of oatmeal sweet potato muffins! They would have been butternut squash, but at $1.29 a can sweet potato won my wallet over. :)

run study eat 009run study eat 010

This mornings breakfast was a mound of failed granola bars and a glass of a new brand of kefir! It was on sale for $3.49 at Whole Foods.

run study eat 011

Yuck. Will never ever buy this again. It kind of tasted like spoiled milk flavored with strawberry puree. I couldn’t even finish the glass. I’m not sure if I should throw it away or just use it for smoothies. Suggestions? Also, a friend of mine on the East Coast (North Carolina, to be exact) is offering me mixed CD’s in exchange for a batch of my pumpkin muffins. I’m going to tweak my recipe a bit to make them less moist but does anyone have experience with sending muffins by mail? Here’s my breakfast shot:

run study eat 012

all up in your space

all up in your space

Now, that all that foodies nonsense is outta the way… :) I have some very exciting news to present to you RSE readers! Crofter’s Organics has extended two extra supplies of their Superfruit jams for me to giveaway to TWO LUCKY READERS! The first box of Crofter’s goodies will go to the person/blogger who posts the most creative definition of a Superfruit ingredient (i.e. Yumberries = yummiest berry this side of the blogosphere)! The second box of goodies will be chosen AT RANDOM from the list of entries (so the more entries, the better your chances)! Here are how to get more chances:

FOR ONE EXTRA ENTRY: Link back to this contest on your blog/twitter and link back to it in the comments.

FOR A SECOND: I’m am currently in a contest between schools to get the most Facebook fans so if you become a fan of this page ****the link should work now**, you will receive another entry.

FOR A THIRD: I’m looking for pumpkin recipes! I’m stocking up on canned pumpkin and I’d like to know your FAV recipe (post it in the comments)!

Good luck everyone! The contest ends this Saturday, October 17, and the winner will be announced sometime on Sunday!

in their lovely packaging

in their lovely packaging

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 2:59 PM

    Second…I would keep the Kefir and use it in smoothies. It’s excellent for the tummy. And if you wish to keep trying it, I suggest the Raspberry flavor. I didn’t care for the Strawberry very much.

    And third, I’m glad you like the muffins. They are hugely popular with the natives around here……

  2. October 13, 2009 3:13 PM

    Try this delicious pumpkin cheesecake. I’ve tried it before and it turned out amazing and Weight Watchers friendly. I didn’t use the Weight Watcher brand stuff, just any low fat cottage cheese and non fat yogurt.

    http://www.cooks.com/rec/doc/0,186,155172-248200,00.html

  3. Kimberly permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:23 PM

    I tried to fan the page as well…link is broken.

    Here are my 2 fav pumpkin recipes:

    Dark Chocolate Pumpkin Loaf
    http://glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/updated-chocolate-pumpkin-loaf/

    Pumpkin Cookies
    http://glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/pumpkin-cookies/

    Kim

  4. October 13, 2009 3:32 PM

    Passionfruit = a lip-smacking delicious fruit that kisses your taste buds back!

  5. October 13, 2009 3:38 PM

    Definitely use them for smoothies–at least try! Kefir should not go to waste :)

  6. October 13, 2009 4:15 PM

    Just “fan” the page. About the Kefir issue…. smoothie seems like a good idea. Put some very ripe bananas in the blender with it and maybe you will get a pleasant strawberry banana smoothie.

  7. October 13, 2009 8:39 PM

    Pumpkin bulghur chili!!

  8. Mary permalink
    October 14, 2009 12:35 PM

    I would use it for muffins, one yummy recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pumpkin-muffins-ii/Detail.aspx

  9. Gina permalink
    October 16, 2009 4:01 PM

    Yes, it’s pumpkin season! I love pumpkin with a nut butter all warmed up in a wrap! Best thing of all, it’s warm and portable for those chilly mornings when I have to get to school early.

  10. Gina permalink
    October 16, 2009 4:06 PM

    Currants: buy me up buttercup, so you can “curra” me home and enjoy.

  11. Gina permalink
    October 17, 2009 1:24 PM

    Became a fan on San Fran State. Good luck on it!

Trackbacks

  1. Oh Hot Damn! « Run, Study, Eat (Repeat!)
  2. All Over the Place! « Run, Study, Eat (Repeat!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

